DUIServing Murfreesboro, TN & The Surrounding Counties
DUI Cases in Murfreesboro
An Experienced DUI Lawyer in Murfreesboro, TN
Being charged with a DUI (Driving Under the Influence) can feel overwhelming and scary, especially if it’s a first offense. Considered a misdemeanor by law, a DUI can land you in hot water if you’re found guilty. In Tennessee, driving under the influence carries fines, driver’s license suspensions and mandatory jail time even for first-time DUI offenders. The amount of jail time will vary according to your BAC (blood alcohol content) and how many prior DUI offenses you have on your record. If you’re facing a DUI ticket, you must have an experienced attorney by your side. Will Fraley, Attorney at Law is a DUI lawyer in Murfreesboro, TN ready to put his expertise and knowledge to work for you. If you’ve been arrested, call our law firm for the aggressive legal representation you need to build a case.
From Underage DUI to Vehicular Homicide, We’re Here for You
In the state of Tennessee, it’s considered drunk driving if your BAC is .08% or higher (or .04% or higher if you’re operating a commercial vehicle). You may also be considered “under the influence” of other intoxicants and controlled substances, including marijuana, which may impair your ability to operate a vehicle safely. Our state also has a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to underage drinking (drinking under the age of 21). An individual under 21 with a BAC of .02% can still be found guilty of an underage DUI, which carries a $250 fine, a revoked driver’s license for a year, and community service with it at a minimum. Whether you’re an adult or a minor facing a DUI ticket, Will Fraley, Attorney at Law handles cases involving all of the following charges and more in Murfreesboro, TN:
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- DUI first offense
- DUI second offense
- Felony DUUnderage DUI
- Driving while suspended
- Vehicular homicide
- Reckless driving or other traffic violations
The Consequences of Repeat DUI Offenses in Tennessee
The consequences for a DUI first offense in Tennessee may include a $350-$1,500 fine, a revoked driver’s license for a year and up to a year in jail (with 2-7 days in jail at a minimum). You’ll also likely need to complete an alcohol and drug treatment program. A DUI second offense usually carries a minimum of 45 days in jail (up to a year), a $600-$3,500 fine, a revoked driver’s license for two years and attending a court-ordered alcohol treatment program. Even when you get your driver’s license back, you may still face restrictions, including probation or work-release permits. Beginning with your second DUI, your vehicle can also be confiscated. A third-time DUI offender may face a minimum of 120 days in jail (up to a year), a $1,100-$10,000 fine and a revoked or restricted driver’s license for 6-10 years. Other penalties may include an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed in your vehicle at your expense. An IID is a breathalyzer device that requires you to breathe into it and be considered sober to start your car.
What Consequences Do You Face for a Felony DUI in TN?
A fourth-time DUI and anything after is considered a felony DUI and carries with it a minimum of a year in jail, a $3,000-$15,000 fine and a revoked driver’s license for eight years. If you harmed anyone while driving under the influence, a judge might also order some form of restitution (a payment made by an offender to the victim of their crime). If someone is killed due to your drunk driving, it’s considered vehicular homicide, which is a Class B felony punishable by 8-30 years in jail, a fine up to $25,000 and a revoked driver’s license for 3-10 years. If you have multiple DUI offenses and a vehicular homicide charge, you may face a Class A felony punishable by 15-60 years in jail and a fine up to $50,000. More severe consequences may be applicable if you’re charged with a DUI with a passenger under 18 years old present, especially if the minor involved is injured or killed as a result of your negligence.
Facing a DUI Ticket in Murfreesboro, TN? Call Will Fraley!
Even if you refuse to submit to a blood alcohol test, you still face a suspended driver’s license. Your refusal to comply may also be used against you in court, along with the police officer’s testimony. If you’re found guilty of drunk driving charges in Tennessee, it will show up on your criminal record for at least 10 years. It’s in your best interest to consult a DUI lawyer to represent you in court. Contact Will Fraley, Attorney at Law to request a consultation with our competent DUI lawyer in Murfreesboro, TN.
Our Client Testimonials
“They were helpful, caring, and dedicated to making sure I would win.”
“What a blessing.”
“They listened to my concerns and addressed each one in a timely manner.”
Choose Will Fraley Attorney At Law
Native to Tennessee
Dedicated Trial Attorney
Spanish Speaking Services Available
Nearly 20 Years of Legal Experience